Recent News

York Journalism Hall of Fame Induction Complete

York Journalism Hall of Fame Induction Complete

Submitted on April 11, 2018

It’s official. Steve York, Class of 1971, is now a member of the UK School of Journalism Hall of Fame. He was one of six Hall of Famers formally recognized during a recent luncheon at Marriott’s Griffin Gate in Lexington.

York’s plaque, presented by Duane Bonifer, (pictured left above with York) president of the UK Journalism Alumni Association, reads: “A skilled reporter, videographer, and editor, he was also known for good judgment, handling big stories well and staying at one TV station. A Georgetown College graduate, he became news director at Lexington’s WVLK in 1972. In 1978-85, he covered Central and Western Kentucky for Louisville’s WAVE-TV and contributed to the station’s thorough reporting on politics. As the assignment editor, he was an overseas field producer in Somalia in 1993 and Rwanda in 1996. He won many awards and was a role model and mentor to generations of young journalists, a rule he was best able to play as assistant news director from 1998 to 2011. He won a lifetime achievement award from the four-state Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (the Emmy Awards), was a director of the Louisville Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists from 2007 to 2015, and remains on WAVE’s editorial board.”

Retired veteran broadcaster Ralph Hacker, who managed WVLK radio during York’s time at that station, remembers York as an “outstanding reporter, not afraid to dig for a story.” He likened York to the late newsman Walter Cronkite recalling that “he nearly always carried an umbrella.”

Other new Hall of Famers feted by many previous HOF inductees, their families, work colleagues, and current UK Journalism students and faculty were Warren Wheat, Jack Brammer, Steve York, Valerie Ellison Wright, Rich Boehne, and Aileen Chambers Evans.

The Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame created by the University of Kentucky Journalism Alumni Association recognizes Kentuckians who have made significant contributions to the profession of journalism. Nominees must be natives of Kentucky or journalists who have spent a significant portion of their careers in Kentucky. The 2018 class brings the total of inductees since the hall was initiated in 1981 to 226.

Photo: David Stephenson

Request More Info add