Recent News

James C. Klotter Named Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Inductee for 2022

Submitted on January 21, 2022

James C. Klotter, a long-time faculty member at Georgetown College, has been named by the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning as an inductee into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame for 2022.

An award-winning author, and the State Historian of Kentucky for more than four decades, Klotter taught history for two decades at Georgetown College—from 1998 until 2018—when he was conferred Emeritus status.

Other inductees to the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame for 2022 include George Ella Lyon and Loyal Jones, both of whom are well known authors about Appalachia. Two deceased Kentucky writers, Ted Poston and poet Robert Hazel, will receive posthumous induction into the Hall of Fame.

The 2022 inductees will be recognized at an in-person ceremony on March 24 at 7 p.m., at the Kentucky Theatre in Lexington, assuming COVID-19 infection rates decrease by then.

The Hall of Fame was created by the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning in 2012 to recognize outstanding writers with strong ties to Kentucky. Members of the Hall are chosen by committees at the Carnegie Center and the Kentucky Arts Council, including some of the state's most accomplished writers.

Klotter, Lyon, and Jones join seven other living Kentucky writers in the Hall of Fame: Nikky Finney, Wendell Berry, Bobbie Ann Mason, Barbara Kingsolver, Gayl Jones, Gurney Norman, and Sena Jeter Naslund. Two previous living inductees — bell hooks and Ed McClanahan — died in recent months of 2021.

More information about the five new inductees, as well as previous inductees, can be found on the Carnegie Center website:

Request More Info chevron_right